Please make the cold go away

The training has been going well, so far, but the wife and I have been relegated to training on our treadmill. The main reason (and really the only reason) for this is that everything is covered in a thick layer of ice and snow and temperatures are right around Hoth levels. And let me tell you, running on a treadmill sucks compared to running outside, but I'm not crazy enough to try running on an inch thick trail o' ice.
So, to pass the time, wife and I have been doing virtual treadmill runs on Youtube. It's been kind of fun, running around in London or Disney World or Angkor Wat. This is actually super fun and makes it feel more like an actual run, but there are some inherent problems with the process. First, I'm looking at an iPad perched on top of my treadmill, which means that I'm looking downward (slightly). That makes it a little bit...wrong. Second is when the run was filmed by some madman that decides to randomly turn his GoPro to the right to check out some scenery and I'm suddenly flailing my arms trying not to lose my balance and pull a Taylor Swift.
My Facebook feed today showed me a picture that I had taken exactly seven years ago today and there was NO snow on the ground at all. It reminded me that no matter how cold the winter there's a springtime ahead, and soon I'll be able to run outside.
Comments
Post a Comment