Old Man Knees

A couple years back I turned 40.  That was right around the time I started training for my first 5k.  I was reading up on training advice and whatnot on some other blog, and it said "if you're over 40, you're considered a 'master runner', which is a really nice way of saying that you're more prone to injury if you're running over age 40.

I've been blessedly injury-free since I started running, but I've noticed that there's definitely a strain, especially about the knees after a "longer" run.  Longer for me is around 2.5 miles at the moment, unfortunately.  I've just about finished my second run through the couch to 5k program, and I'm hoping to get my muscles and joints used to the runs as I progress through my training for the Ragnar.

Another problem with being an old guy is that recovery is longer.  (Same goes for hangovers)  I never used to be much of an athlete, but when I did engage in exercise as a younger man I recovered quite quickly.  Now I finish a run and I'm sore, but two days later I feel like I've been hit by a bus.  Unfortunately the only thing for it is to get back on the horse and run more.

Using my age is a pretty weak excuse, though.  There is only one person on our team that hasn't cracked 40, and at 42 I'm still in the "young" half of the participants.

Comments