Tread(mill) Lightly
=
So since it's Minnesota, and it's January, and it's cold, i'm not able to run outside. I mean... I could run outside, but I'm waaaaay more likely to injure myself by hitting an ice patch and going ass over teakettle into the curb (thanks to my grandmother for that amazing turn of phrase). According to Nike Run Club, the earliest time of the year I've run is February 18th, and the coldest weather i've run in was a few weeks later, when it was 26 degrees, with 25mph winds gusting to 40mph. It was also snowing. That was dumb. REAL dumb. So, i moved inside and started running on the indoor 200m track at the college I work at. It turns out that running indoors, on a short track, is real boring. Like... super boring. CRAZY BORING.
So this year, as I started the C25K program AGAIN (the process of me finishing the C25K program, running a 5K, and then finishing the shameful 5K2C program I believe I discussed in the first post on this blog), I thought I'd give treadmill running a try.
For whatever reason, it's not as horribly monotonous as I thought it would. That might be because at week 2 of C25K the walk/run segments are short, so i'm shifting things up a bit. I'm also listening to a fairly amusing podcast. I'm curious as to how running at a specific pace, as dictated by the treadmill, will affect my outdoor pace when I move to running outdoors.
Anyway, my biggest fear so far is that I will lose my balance and just completely eat shit in front of my coworkers. Which isn't too bad, as my biggest fear previously while running was getting chased by bees.

Comments
Post a Comment